Hello Fresh: A (not-so) New Way to Get Cooking!

Hi friends! Happy April! It’s been a while since my last post, and I want to thank each of you who have continued to show me love during my absence. Nothing is wrong, in fact life is actually pretty amazing! My 30th birthday was April 1st (no joke!), we’ve had friends and family visiting quite a bit, and with the warmer weather (FINALLY!) gracing Chicago, my husband and I have been spending most of our time away from home. Life is peachy, and 2017 is shaping up to be an incredible year for my family. 😊

Speaking of 2017, how’s everyone doing with their resolutions? My only resolution this year was to eat healthier food and, most importantly to me, EAT AT HOME more often!!! Randy and I love going out, we spend too much money going out to eat, drink, and be merry. I mean, it’s great and all, but I’ve been really feeling the need to stay home and cook dinner for Randy and I, especially since we got married this past October. We both work hard, especially my husband with his long hours and physically-demanding career; cooking for him is one of the little ways I can show my appreciation for all of the hard work he puts in not just on the job, but also here at home and within our marriage. And after seven years of him cooking delicious meals for me, I figured it was about time for me to give him a break in the kitchen.

The only problem with me cooking more often at home was the fact that I would have to do something I absolutely hate more often: grocery shop. 😫 It’s not so much the store itself or the process of picking things out, it’s more that I don’t like spending so much time in a store in general, and I have a hard time picking only what I need for the two of us. I’ve wasted so much food in the past because I just didn’t know how much to buy! I’m very much like my father and his father in the sense that when I cook, I cook like I’m cooking for an army of 2,000 instead of a family of 2. And then there are leftovers that neither of us eats, and more dirty dishes to clean, and more time spent cleaning, and blah, blah, blah. It’s just an unnecessary mess brought on by me, myself, and I. 

So, what do I do? Well, I’m a subscription box addict, and I had heard of services like Blue Apron in the past, so I decided to give it a go. After reading many reviews and taking a look at recipes supplied by a few different companies, I decided to give Hello Fresh a chance to knock my socks off, and boy did they ever! We received our first box on March 17th, and seven boxes later I’m just as impressed as I was with the first. When you first open your box, you’ll see a welcome packet along with your recipe cards. 


Just below that, under a layer of insulation, are your labeled boxes of fresh, beautiful veggies, fruit, etc. 





And just below that, in yet another compartment complete with a huge ice pack that’s still completely frozen when we open our boxes, is your meat (assuming you’ve chosen the Classic Plan). 


Each recipe card is large, detailed, and easy to follow. You’re getting nearly everything you need in these boxes! However there are a few things they won’t supply you with, such as oil, butter, salt, and pepper. I’m okay with this because I prefer to cook with pure coconut oil as opposed to olive or vegetable oil, which is what all of the recipes we’ve received so far have called for. We have yet to have an issue with anything we’ve received. The packaging is wonderful and secure, and I love how everything is divided into labeled boxes that stack neatly in our fridge. 


All of the ingredients are already perfectly portioned for you, so there’s no guess-work involved. And sometimes they’ll send a little extra for you to keep for other recipes!… which they kindly mention on the recipe cards.

But now for the most important part; how do the meals taste? Simply put, they’re incredible! Randy and I have loved every single recipe we’ve tried so far, and that’s saying something because my husband is one of the pickiest eaters I know; he also tries to eat gluten-free as much as possible because he feels his best when he’s eating that way. I love that Hello Fresh allows me to choose from numerous different recipes (seven in all!) every week, and 3-4 of the options are gluten-free most of the time. We’ve tried things we normally wouldn’t think to try, some of our favorites being Prosciutto-Wrapped Chicken over Risotto Primavera, Dukkah-Crusted Cod with Cranberry Couscous and Roasted Veggies, and (a huge hit!) Wasabi Lime Salmon over Soy-Simmered Rice with Baby Bok Choy. We’ve made a few of the meals a couple of times on our own, too!… like Chicken Under A Zucchini Blanket with Mashed Potatoes and Green Beans. YUM!!! 😍 

Bottom line, Hello Fresh helps keep me out of the grocery store and at home with my husband, which is where I really want to be. And I love that they give me so many options to choose from!… we can choose to receive 3-5 meals per week, and even the day they’ll be delivered! In addiction to the seven recipes that are offered each week, we also get to decide what type of recipes they’ll be, like fit or quick meals, and even pork-free, beef-free, or chicken-free, and I can change those options at any time. They also offer boxes for vegetarians and those with larger families. 

How do you get started? I contacted Hello Fresh to inquire about current promotions, and they were nice enough to extend an offer of $40 off our first box, which is like getting 4 meals free! You can get the same great offer by using my referral code when you sign up: JennGrif9  Just visit Hello Fresh and use my code during checkout. Not only will you receive $40 off your first order (with zero obligation to stay subscribed), I’ll receive $20 off our next box!… so thank you in advance if you decide to give it a go! Another awesome feature Hello Fresh offers is you can skip deliveries as often as you like, without any fees, which is great if you’re going to be out of town and unable to eat at home, or if if you just need to take a break. 👌🏻

Let me know if you give Hello Fresh a try, or if there are any other meal delivery services you love and think I should to try. Happy cooking! 😊

Leave a Reply

