Play! by Sephora • December, 2016

The December Play! by Sephora box arrived a few days ago and, now that I’ve had a chance to try all the awesome goodies, I have to say this is my favorite Play! box yet. 

Let’s have a look at what subscribers received this month…


•Bobbi Brown – Smokey Eye Mascara: I really like this mascara. It separated my lashes perfectly, with zero clumps, and didn’t flake at all. The jet-black shade adds the perfect amount of drama to your look. Definitely give this gem a try.

•Urban Decay – All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray: I was super excited to give this one a try! I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it, and those reviews are right; this stuff helps makeup stay put all day and well into the night. No touch ups needed. Awesome!

•Make Up For Ever – Step 1 Skin Equalizer Smoothing Primer: This is the only product out of December’s lineup that I feel kind of ‘meh’ about.  It does do a wonderful job of helping to minimize pores, but it also showcased any dry skin I had on my face, and that’s a major no-go for me. If dry skin isn’t an issue for you, I’m sure you’ll like this primer.

•Sephora Collection – Cream Lip Stain in Always Red: I’m normally a nudie lover when it comes to my lips, but with the holidays upon us, red lips have become a favorite. This red is what I consider a true red; it’s bright, bold, and cheery. However I had issues with it staying put for more than an hour or two, and I had to re-apply numerous times throughout the work day (and I wasn’t eating or drinking anything). Still, I received lots of compliments. For me, this will be a product I use when I don’t need extended wear coverage.

•Drybar – Detox Dry Shampoo: Oh dry shampoo, how I love you! I shampoo my hair as needed, about once every week or two, because my hair tends to be dry and anything more than that can wreak havoc on my locks. Dry shampoo helps keep my hair looking and smelling fresh; I begin using it around day 5 and as needed from there, which is usually every 2-3 days. I’m a huge fan of Dove’s dry shampoo, I haven’t purchased any other brand, ever. Drybar’s Detox Dry Shampoo smells great, and it didn’t leave behind white residue. It gave my hair an awesome ‘lift’ and revived my style. I may end up purchasing this once my Dove supply starts running low. Two thumbs up!

•Elizabeth and James – Nirvana Bourbon: I’m not much of a perfume-wearing person. My mom suffers with migraines when she’s exposed to strong scents, so I’ve always been pretty careful and considerate of those around me who may be scent sensitive. That being said, I do love Nirvana Bourbon. It’s described as a “provocative blend of sultry vanilla bourbon, oakwood, and a hint of tuberose for a bold, oriental-woody scent”. My husband, who hates when I wear perfume, complimented this one! That, combined with my love for it, make this one a winner.

I know a lot of people are still waiting to be taken off the wait list for Play! by Sephora, and the wait can be long. I heard a lot of spots are going to be made available soon, so keep trying! It’s well worth the wait. 🙂 On another note, here’s a couple of pictures to show you what my favorite product out of December’s box, Bobbi Brown’s Smokey Eye Mascara, can do for your lashes. A full list of products used will be posted below.



Products used…

••FACE••

Supergoop!: Daily Correct CC Cream

Elizabeth Mott: Show Me Your Cheeks blush in Peach Pink

Algenist: Reveal Concentrated Luminizing Drops in Pearl 

Kat Von D: Lock-it Setting Powder in Translucent 

••EYES••

Coastal Scents: Revealed 3 palette 

Coastal Scents: Style Eyes palette in Glamour Eyes

Kat Von D: Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Bobbi Brown: Smokey Eye Mascara in Black 

••LIPS••

Neutrogena: Moisture Smooth color stick in Almond Nude

Leave a Reply

