Dermaflash: A Skincare Must

I know, I know… it seems there’s a new beauty ‘must-have’ every time we turn around, and most of them fall short of meeting our expectations. But ladies and gents, I feel I’ve been introduced to one!… an actual skincare/beauty must-have! It’s called Dermaflash. 


Before I go any further, I want to tell you how I ended up owning this awesome device. I’m a member of Influenster. Influenster is an online community where you write reviews about pretty much everything; from skincare to makeup, movies to games, food to drinks, cleaning supplies, pet supplies… the list goes on and on. As an Influenster, you get the opportunity to participate in campaigns and receive what are called Voxboxes. Each Voxbox is different. Most times you’ll receive an email with a link to a survey that qualifies you for the Voxbox, and if they feel you’re a good fit for the campaign, you’ll receive another email to let you know. The campaign will show up on your profile under the ‘Campaign’ tab. Within that tab is where you’ll find all the details regarding the campaign and what they want you to do (things like posting a picture of the product to your Instagram or Facebook account, writing a review, etc.). I’ve been with Influenster for about 1 1/2 years and have received a lot of awesome products, including a multi-room humidifier from Honeywell, Slimfast products, full size products for my hair, makeup from Maybelline and Kat Von D., and numerous other awesome goodies. There is zero cost related to being part of the community, I’ve never paid a penny for anything. If you’re interested in joining, click HERE to get started. That being said, my review is my honest opinion about Dermaflash, it has not been influenced in any way by any person other than myself. Only 200 lucky Influensters received a Dermaflash Voxbox, and I’m thankful to be one of them. 

So, what is Dermaflash? It’s a skincare tool that uses subtle sonic vibration combined with a stainless steel Edge razor to remove dead skin cells, built up debris, and peach fuzz. It mimics what dermaplaning is known for. Dermaplaning is a form of exfoliation that consists of using a scalpel to gently remove the top layer of dead skin cells, thereby revealing brighter, smoother skin. Dermaflash offers similar results for less money overall and from the comfort of your own home. The starter kit retails for around $200, you can find it in stores like Sephora and Macy’s. The kit comes with Step 1: Prep Cleanser, Step 2: Dermaflash, Step 3: Soothe Lotion, and 6 Edge razors (roughly a 6 week supply). Each Edge can be used only once!… be prepared for that. The device itself will not charge with an Edge in place, and once an Edge is removed, it cannot be clicked back into the device. Some say it’s a gimmick to get you to purchase more refills, Dermaflash says it’s because using the same razor more than once isn’t safe and is unhygienic. Once you see the amount of dead skin cells and built up debris this thing can remove, you’ll probably agree with Dermaflash.


I’ve used Dermaflash four times (including today). The first time I used it, I wasn’t sold. I’ve shaved my face for years with a regular razor and found that to be sufficient. However, with traditional shaving, I was left with occasional razor burn and ingrown hairs, especially along my neck and jaw bone. These things, as most of you know, are not only unsightly, they can be pretty painful, too, and take a while to heal and fade. With Dermaflash, I haven’t experienced any of these issues. WIN!!!

I’ve read some reviews where women saw a lot of crud coming off their face while using Dermaflash, I didn’t the first time I used it. I had allowed the peach fuzz to grow back in for about two weeks before giving it a try, but I exfoliate and cleanse my face religiously, so I thought maybe there just wasn’t any crud to be removed. Before using it again, I decided to skip exfoliating my face for the entire one and a half weeks, I used no treatments as I normally do. That, my friends, made the difference. I had quite a bit of dead skin and gunk built up on my face when I used Dermaflash the second time, and it did remove every bit of it, effortlessly and painlessly. However I’ll never allow my skin to get like that again. Exfoliation is life!

Edge blade before use

Edge blade after use

The only issue I encountered while using the system is the Soothe lotion didn’t play nice with my sensitive skin; it caused my skin to sting and turn bright red for hours after applying it. I skipped that part of the system the last two times I’ve used the device and haven’t had any issues with redness or other irritation.

So, do I think you should run out and purchase this system? Is it all it’s hyped up to be? I believe, if you have the money and want to purchase something nice for yourself, you absolutely should. I’ve noticed my skin stays softer longer, the peach fuzz seems to be less noticeable once it starts growing back, and I’ve had so many (we’re talking well over 30) people tell me how radiant and creamy my complexion is since starting this system, including my husband. And I haven’t changed anything else in my skincare routine. I give the system 5 out of 5 stars. 

P.S.  The following are some pictures I’ve taken for my IG account over the past few weeks since starting the Dermaflash system. They’ll give you an idea of what my skin looks like in different lighting.

Leave a Reply

