Pixi: Skincare Review

Let’s talk skincare. I’ve done quite a few reviews in the past for skincare products I love and can’t go without. And subscriptions like Ipsy, Birchbox, Boxycharm, Sephora Play!, and countless others make it easier than ever for us to give different brands a try. I love mixing up my routine, however lately I’ve found myself wanting a more stable routine when it comes to my skincare. I’ve been a loyal user of Aubrey Organics for years. Even with all the mixing things up bit, I still used Aubrey products in conjunction with the samples I’d try. I was happy to go back to using Aubrey exclusively, but  I started hearing about how wonderful Pixi’s Glow Tonic is and, naturally, I had to give it a try.

I went to Target, purchased a bottle of Glow Tonic, and used it that night. I’ll be honest, as I always am when it comes to my reviews, I didn’t notice a huge difference right away as some people did. It was just an ‘okay’ tonic. Fast forward about a week or so to when I should have been getting a bit of a breakout (it was my time of the month), I never did. A few days after that, and after using the tonic morning and night, I started noticing my skin appeared brighter and more even, and my pores appeared to be shrinking in size. Woohoo! The only thing I changed, consistently, in my routine was adding the Glow Tonic to my lineup. I decided, since I was in need of more Aubrey products anyway, to go ahead and make the leap to an exclusive Pixi-only routine. I ordered the products directly from Pixi while they were having a pretty decent sale, and a few others from Target because Pixi was out of stock. I waited until I received all of the products I had ordered to make the big switch. 


The following is a list of the products I ordered and use.

Cleansers: Nourishing Cleansing Balm, Moisturizing Cleansing Cloths, and Makeup Melting Cleansing Cloths

Tonic: Glow Tonic

Serum: Hydrating Milky Serum

Facial Oil: Rose Oil Blend

Mists: Hydrating Milky Mist, and Makeup Fixing Mist

Moisturizers: H2O Skindrink, and Beauty Sleep Cream

Masks: Nourishing Sleep Mask, and Glow Mud Mask

Other treatments: Glow Peel Pads, 24k Eye Elixer, and Nourishing Lip Polish

I have a morning and evening skincare routine that I follow religiously, and I use a few of the products intermittently throughout the week. I feel I’ve found the perfect products for my skin. My skin has absolutely never looked or felt better than it does now. When I go out without makeup on, I get compliments about my skin every single time. People, women and men, ask what I’m using, what I do, etc. It’s flattering to say the least and I don’t blame them for asking. 😉 My fiancé even asked what I’m doing differently! He also asked if I’m pregnant… 😑 … but that’s only because of how much my skin is glowing these days, so I let that slide. I’d also like to add I’ve had zero issues with sensitivity, which is something I have to be mindful of. Bottom line, my skin has never looked THIS amazing. So, would I recommend the products? Absolutely! 

I feel both my morning and evening routines are fairly simple. I make sure to wake up early enough to have time to care for myself. That means eating breakfast and taking my vitamins, showering, brushing my teeth, and using my skincare products. My morning skincare routine consists of cleansing, toning, using a bit of serum, moisturizing, and prepping my skin for makeup if I’m going to wear any that day. My evening routine is similar, with an extra step or two added to the lineup depending on whether I use any of the masks or treatments.


Morning Routine

Step 1: Cleanse with one of the Moisturizing Cleansing Cloths

Step 2: Apply Glow Tonic and allow it to fully dry before continuing to step 3

Step 3: Apply 3-4 drops of Hydrating Milky Serum (I skip this step occasionally if my skin doesn’t feel it needs the extra moisture)

Step 4: Apply 2-3 pumps of H2O Skindrink

Step 5: Apply 24k Eye Elixer

Step 6: Spritz face with Makeup Fixing Mist (if needed)

Evening Routine

Note: If I’m wearing a lot of makeup or just feel I need the extra cleanse, I’ll use one of the Makeup Melting Cleansing Cloths before using my usual evening cleanser, the Nourishing Cleansing Balm.

Step 1: Cleanse with Nourishing Cleansing Balm (your skin will feel like, well, the softest thing you’ve ever touched after you use this product!)

Step 2: Apply Glow Tonic, allow to dry before continuing to step 3

Step 3: Apply 2-4 drops of Rose Oil Blend to face and neck*

*I use this oil in the evening, and the Hydrating Milky Serum during the day. I feel this one is a bit heavier, which I would prefer to use before going to bed and not before applying makeup.

Step 4: Spritz face and neck with Hydrating Milky Mist and allow to dry before continuing to step 5

Step 5: Apply 3 pumps of Beauty Sleep Cream to face and neck

Step 6: Apply 24k Eye Elixer

Step 7: Apply Nourishing Lip Polish (see below for a little note about this product)

Extras

Glow Peel Pads: I use these little miracle workers when my skin needs an extra boost. They exfoliate well, make skin glow like crazy, and are surprisingly gentle on my sensitive skin. You may notice a tingling sensation after you rinse the treatment away, it’s normal and will disappear within a few minutes. 

Nourishing Sleep Mask: When skin needs an extra dose of moisture, this is the mask to use. Apply it before you go to bed and wake up to softer, smoother skin. My skin leans dry most of the time, but I actually find myself not needing to use this mask very often because of how well every other product moisturizes! 

Glow Mud Mask: You have probably heard quite a few people rave about this one. It’s the one that pulls all the gunk from deep within your pores to the surface. It works very well, but I didn’t notice the dramatic result I feel everyone else has. I will say I feel those who have seen the most dramatic results have oily or oily combination skin. Still, this is an easy mud mask to remove, and it doesn’t make my skin feel tight or irritated after use. 

Notes

You don’t have to use all of the products I use. Maybe you can’t be bothered with using so many of them, I’m sure you will benefit from using only a few of them at a time. Experiment and find what works best for you! Also, Pixi makes products that are specific to what skin type you have. If you have oily or combo skin, you may benefit from using one of the other products they offer. The products above are what work for me and my dry, sensitive skin. 

A cool little feature on the Nourishing Lip Polish tube is the applicator tip. It has numerous small bristle-like pieces of plastic sticking up from where the polish is dispensed, you can use them to massage the polish onto your lips and exfoliate. This stuff stays on my lips all night and truly does a great job of moisturizing them. Love it!

The roller ball tip of the eye elixer is cool to the touch, helping to soothe puffy, stressed skin.

Both the Hydrating Milky Mist and the Makeup Fixing Mist do a superb job of prolonging makeup wear. I was thoroughly impressed! After 9+ hours of working in a non-air conditioned warehouse and sweating my tookus off, my makeup was in perfect condition. No touch-ups needed. 

Before you head to Target to purchase any of these products, be sure to check out the Pixi website first for promo offers. You can save quite a bit of money that way, depending on how much you’re going to spend.

Once you’ve started using your Pixi products, or if you’re already a loyal fan, let me know! What do you think of them? Which is your favorite product to use? Sound off in the comments! 😊

3 thoughts on “Pixi: Skincare Review

  1. cornfedcontessa says:

    Sounds like you found a great skin care line. I’m really fickle with my skin care as I’m always trying the latest thing. Having mature skin makes me gravitate towards decreasing my wrinkles. Lucky for me I’ve been using a daily SPF 30 moisturizer for 30 plus years, so my skin looks pretty good. It’s funny how when you are a kid you have freckles, but when you are an adult they are called age spots. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

