Birchbox – On Trend Korean Beauty Box

One of the best things about Birchbox is their points system.  100 points equals to $10.00 you can use in their virtual store.  It doesn’t take long to reach 100 points, either.  You got points for reviewing the products you receive in your boxes, points for purchases, and points just for even getting a monthly box!  I redeemed 100 of my points to get the On Trend Korean Beauty box, in addition to my usual monthly box.  It boasts an impressive 7 samples, and they’re fairly generous sizes, too.  This box is available for purchase in the Birchbox store for only $10.00 if you’re a subscriber, or $15.00 if you’re not.*  

*For whatever reason, the box has been removed from their site.  I’m unable to locate it via search, or by clicking on the link to the box via my account history.  I’ll update you when/if the link is made available again.

Ready to see what you can expect to receive in this box?  Here we go…

  
• RE:P: Bio Fresh Mask with Real Calming Herb  |  This soothing mask uses organic herbs and kaolin clay to reduce redness and deeply cleanse pores.  

It’s one of my favorite products included in this box.  It’s easy to use and left my skin feeling soothed and soft, which is exactly what I needed after using two other products out of this box that didn’t agree with my skin type.  It’s gentle and effective.  

To use:  Gently massage onto damp face to exfoliate, and rinse off in 10-15 minutes with cool water.

•IPKN: Flash Cream Radiant Primer  |  Rich in fruit extracts, this nourishing SPF 15 primer creates a smooth, luminous canvas for makeup.  

I don’t use primers often; I haven’t found one I thought made a difference.  I like that this one has an SPF, and it does seem to add a bit of glow to my skin.  But as for making my skin smooth?… not so much.  I’ll use it until it’s gone, but it won’t make it to my gotta-have-it list.

To use:  Wear alone or under foundation.

TONYMOLY: Delight Tony Tint, in Red  |  This lightweight lip color fries quickly for a matte, flushed finish that lasts all day.  

I chose this as my sample choice for my regular January box, and I’m glad I did.  I love the matte finish and the fact that it’s a stain.  I highly suggest exfoliating and moisturizing your lips before using it, otherwise it can appear splotchy, and that’s no good.  Oh, and it smells and tastes sweet!… love!

To use:  Apply a bit to the center of your lips and blend using your finger.  Wash hands ASAP!

Manefit: Beauty Planner Cucumber Soothing & Moisturizing Mask  |  Infused with cucumber, this sheet mask soothes, tones, and restores moisture to dry skin.  

I’m a huge fan of sheet masks, I was happy to see one was included in the box.   I left it on for 30 minutes or so, and then squeezed any remaining serum out of the packet and massaged it into my skin.  I was left with soft, smooth, luminous skin.  Another favorite!

To use:  Peel off the plastic netting, smooth onto clean skin, allow to soak into your skin for 10-20 minutes (or longer) and remove sheet and toss it.  Don’t rinse.  Enjoy your smooth, radiant, calm skin!  

Goodal: Waterest First Essence  |  This high-tech formula includes hyaluronic acid and fermented lotus flower to help skin retain moisture.

I’m undecided about this product.  It seems to cool my skin and I like the way it makes my skin feel, but I’m not sure about the whole helping my skin retain moisture thing; it’s just too soon to tell.

To use:  Dab and massage into skin after cleansing.  Follow with a moisturizer.

BONUS!  Goodal: Yerba Mate Bubble Peeling, and Yerba Mate Cleansing Foam  |   Birchbox added some bonus packettes to this box.  The Bubble Peeling helps remove dead skin for a brighter complexion, while the Cleansing Foam balances oils and detoxifies the skin.  

You don’t have to use much of either of these; I’ll be able to get numerous uses out of both packettes.  My skin felt tight and dry after using these, so, if you have dry, sensitive skin, use with caution.  I was also left with mild irritation on my nose and chin.  I won’t purchase these in the future, but I’m sure they’ll be perfect for those who have oily/combination skin.

To use:  Apply to damp skin, massage and rinse cleanser.  Apply the bubble peel to damp skin, massage gently, rinse.

  
Birchbox will cost you $10.00 per month.  Each box offers a new, fresh design and contains five or more samples.  You can sign up for Birchbox HERE, and receive bonus points for using my referral link.  Enjoy!  😊

  

Leave a Reply

