Birchbox – November, 2015

How has it been 23 days since I last published a post?!  Time is flying by, and I have a great reason for letting time get away from me; Randy and I have (finally!) moved into our new home, here in Chicago.  We’re already very happy here, especially with the location.  We can walk anywhere we need to go, we’re close to the river, and I can see Starbucks from my house!!!  😂

November’s Birchbox arrived a couple of days ago.  The box design and colors are lovely, but I have to say this is one of my least favorites in terms of samples I’ve received; I’m thankful for them all nonetheless.  

Klorane, Smoothing and Relaxing Patches with Soothing Cornflower  –  Soothing under eye patches packed with fast-acting botanicles that fade fine lines, dark circles, and puffiness.  

These work fairly well; they were soothing, and I noticed a little extra hydration to my under eye area.  These guys cost $21.00 though, and that’s not a price I’m willing to pay for a product like this.  

LOC, Vibrant Matte Lipstick, Wildest Dreams  –  From Birchbox’s new brand.  A soft, flexible lipstick with shades curated by YouTube beauty star Tati Westbrook.  

This is my least favorite out of everything I received.  This red is definitely not for me.  The formula seemed hydrating and smooth in the beginning, but with no more than 45 minutes to an hour of wear I noticed fading and some fall-out.  I had to take it off, and I (of course!) was left with an unpleasant stain, which isn’t uncommon with red lipsticks.  This lipstick retails for $8.00.

MAKE, Face Gloss  –  With minimal effort, this colorless, vitamin-rich formula refreshes dull skin.  

This stuff does add a nice dewy glow to skin, and I really love that it’s colorless.  But I can achieve the same results with Vaseline for a fraction of the cost.  Face Gloss retails for $25.00.

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain, Touchable Curl Cream  –  This innovative formula combines the silky texture of a serum with the light hold of a cream.  

I find most products made for curls don’t live up to my expectations, and this one is no exception.  I didn’t notice any difference in the texture of my hair.  Retail is $24.00

Temple Spa, La La Lagoon Aromatic Bath and Shower Gel  –  Infused with mint, peppermint, and basil, this gel cleanser helps soothe stress while softening and smoothing skin.  

With a price tag of $18.00, it’s a bit more than I’d like to pay for a bath and shower gel, but this is my favorite product out of the lineup.  I love the scent, and my skin did feel softer to the touch.  Two thumbs up!

  
What did you receive in your November Birchbox?  What are your hits and misses?  I usually love the products I receive from Birchbox; here’s to better luck next month!  

  

2 thoughts on “Birchbox – November, 2015

  1. everythingnothin says:

    Great review love! I really liked the LOC lip colors, but I totally agree they fade and feather really bad. They are really pigmented but I don’t like how they wear. I love red so that wasn’t and issue for me hehe! I wouldn’t have been happy with my box if I was you either. I hope you get a better box next month!

    Like

  2. stephieestie says:

    Nice review! I got the lighter version of the LOC lip color and I like it but I don’t love it. I also got the same curl cream and am curious to try it out except like you, I feel most curl creams don’t work too well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

