Birchbox – October, 2016

October… a month for ghouls and goblins to make their debut, to dress up and have killer Halloween parties, and for kids of all ages to let their imaginations run wild.  It’s a fun month, and one of my favorites.  However, October also holds another purpose; Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Nearly every subscription I subscribe to is focusing on Halloween themed boxes (which is awesome!), but it was great to see one subscription box dedicate their theme to the pink and a ‘Positive Force’.  Enter Birchbox; they’re all about the pink this month.  In fact, Birchbox has teamed up with Estée Lauder Companies’ Breast Cancer Awareness Campaign and the Breast Cancer Research Foundation to fund a FULL YEAR of breast cancer lab research.  That’s amazing!  This means a lot to me personally, and I want to send a huge shootout to Birchbox for dedicating their October boxes to a wonderful cause.  💖

Moving on to my box, here’s a look at what I received this month…

Avène, Thermal Spring Water – I was most excited to try this product when I got a sneak peek at my box.  I have sensitive skin, atopic dermatitis, and it tends to stay on the dry side; especially since moving to Chicago.  Avène’s Thermal Spring Water is designed with people like me in mind.  It soothes itching, redness, damaged skin, and is even great for things like diaper irritations, razor burn, after hair removal and surgical procedures.  It’s packaged in a sterile unit at the source; this packaging technology guarantees a product whose biological purity and effectiveness are completely intact.  I’ll definitely be purchasing this once my (generously large) sample begins to run out.

BioRepublic, Cucumber Breeze Soothing Mask – I didn’t notice much of a difference in the overall feel or appearance of my skin after using this mask, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t do me some good.  It was refreshing, and it didn’t cause any irritation or dryness.  That’s a win in my book.

Manna Kadar Cosmetics, Lip Locked in Lucky – I love this color!  It’s the perfect nude.  I typically don’t wear anything but lip balm on my lips, but thanks to this super moisturizing and long-lasting formula, I’ve given lip glosses another shot.  

Oribe, Dry Texturizing Spray – I adore dry shampoos, and this spray takes it to a whole-nother level.  Oribe’s Dry Texturizing Spray gives my hair mega volume, and I love the way it smells.  It offers the perfect amount of hold without making my hair feel stiff.  A+!  I’ll purchase this in the future.

stila, huge extreme lash mascara – This is my sample choice this month.  I’m extremely picky when it comes to mascara.  I already have long, think lashes, which I’m thankful for, but it can make wearing mascara a pain.  Most will cause my lashes to clump together, and that’s never a good look.  This one does a great job, and I think (just maybe!) it’s my favorite mascara.  I need to use it for a few more days to be sure, but it’s off to a great start.  No clumps, the formula isn’t super thick, and I love the brush.  I’ll probably end up purchasing this, too.

October’s box was a huge hit!  I like everything I received.  Is it wrong for me to already be looking forward to the December box?  I want to see what they’ll design to honor the holiday season.  😁

Click HERE to sign up for Birchbox and receive bonus points by using my referral link.  For $10.00 per month, you’ll receive five (or more!) samples and a keepsake box, every month.  You can cancel at any time, but you won’t want to.  😉

 
  

13 thoughts on “Birchbox – October, 2016

  1. everythingnothin says:

    Whoot Whoot!! We got the same box!!! I am so in love with it! I was just so impressed with Birchbox this month! They def beat Ipsy for sure this month!! I totally can’t wait to try the mascara! I have used the sheet mask before and I love it! The texturizing spray is also really nice. The Thermal spray is one of my beauty must haves. I am totally in love with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennifer Leigh G. says:

      Well, it really depends on the month. I love the bags Ipsy sends to us; I use them for makeup, wallets, etc. Birchbox sends the boxes, which I use for jewelry storage. The products Birchbox sends tend to be more skincare related or bath and body related, while Ipsy sends more cosmetics. I like skincare and bath and body products, so I tend to enjoy Birchbox more. But it really depends on my mood and what I need. I say give Birchbox a chance for a couple of months, and see how you like it. They’re great about listening to feedback, so be sure to customize your profile. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

