Birchbox – July, 2015

At times, Birchbox annoys me.  July offered subscribers a choice of the Go Bold box, or the Beachy and Bright box, OR both!  Living near the beach, I was excited about the Beachy and Bright box because of the lovely palm tree pattern, so I opted for both boxes.  I became concerned when my confirmation email displayed only the B & B box, so I emailed customer service, and ahh yes, I was set to receive only the B & B box, not the Go Bold version, as well.  I was told there was no way to secure a Go Bold box, and they hoped I enjoyed the B & B box.  I was a little bummed, but okay, no biggie.  Fast forward a few days, I receive an email stating I could see the samples I would be receiving in my box.  I already knew what they (should) would be, because the contents of the B & B box weren’t a secret, but I clicked the link anyways.  I was surprised to see samples that weren’t part of the B & B box, and instead see a picture of the Go Bold box.  I thought it may be a glitch, so I patiently awaited the delivery of my box.  Delivery day came, and I received the Go Bold box.  What?!  I love the samples I received, and the box itself is simply stunning, but I was a tad confused.  I emailed customer service, again, and was told they couldn’t secure my selection because my payment method failed.  I knew this was a possibility, I had just gotten a new debit card, so I let it go.  I checked my online banking activity, and there it is… Birchbox, $10.00, withdrawn on the 1st of July, right on schedule.  Birchbox needs to get it together.  Rant over.  😒

Moving on to the good stuff, as I stated earlier, I love the samples I received this month; yay!!!  Here’s what my July Go Bold theme box contained…

Stila, Look at Me Liquid Lipstick in Beso – When I first saw this red, I was thinking no, no, no.  I’m not a fan of red lips, never have I been.  I gave it a try, and I must admit, I love it!  It’s the perfect shade of red, for me.  It has mega staying power, which is great, but it can (and will!) stain your skin when applied incorrectly.  Use caution!  I saw some reviews where people couldn’t get it off of their lips, but I didn’t have an issue.  Water and cleanser took care of the job.  The formula is creamy with a matte finish, which I love.  It glides on smoothly, and moisturizes with the help of vitamin E and avocado oils.

 
Amika, un.Done Texture Spray – This stuff promises volume, shine, and strengthening properties, thanks to sea buckthorn berries and an exclusive polymer blend.  My hair is naturally coarse and thick, I don’t need anything to add volume or texture, but I’m always happy to try something new.  It added shine, and it does help to give a nice tousled look to my strands.  The scent is lovely, and packaging is super cute, too!  I may not purchase this in the future, but overall I’m happy with my results.  I bet it works wonders for anyone with fine, smooth strands.  

Supergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream SPF 35+ – I’ve never used BB or CC creams, I’ve simply never had the desire to.  This stuff is pretty awesome.  It’s light weight, offers the perfect amount of coverage, and it protects against UVA, UVB, and infrared-A-rays.  Pores and lines seem softened thanks to mica minerals, and skin is left smooth.  If you have acne prone skin, you’ll probably want to layer for added coverage.

Jouer Daily Clarifying Treatment Oil – I’m a huge fan of Jouer, and this treatment oil is another reason why.  It’s fantastic!  I’ve used it only twice, and I already see a positive difference.  Two drops is all it takes to help hydrate and clarify your skin.  The formula contains a certified organic triple-oil complex, made with lemon tea tree, jojoba, and neem oils.  Not only does it hydrate and tone, it helps to combat clogged pores, and it’s fragrance free.  I love using essential oils in my skincare routine, so this is perfect for me.  You have to try this!  Your skin will look and feel smooth, hydrated, balanced, and radiant.

Key West Aloe Save a Tan – This lotion is pretty straight forward.  It contains 80% aloe vera to help seal in moisture after sun exposure, which will help to prevent peeling and fading.  My favorite part of this lotion is the scent, a tropical blend of coconut and key lime!  I’ve only used a tiny bit on my hands to see how well it moisturizes, and it definitely gets the job done.  I’ll use this after my next trip to the beach.  🌴

  
My favorite product out of July’s box is Jouer’s Daily Clarifying Treatment Oil, followed by Stila’s Liquid Lipstick.  I’ll purchase both of these in the future.  I hope to see more products by Jouer in future boxes, I’ve been so happy with every product I’ve used by them.  

Birchbox subscribers, what was your favorite product out of this month’s box?  Sound off, below!

If you’re new to Birchbox, click HERE to start receiving your monthly box of goodies for only $10.00 per month!  You’ll receive bonus points by using the link provided, and get some bonus points for me, too.  😊

  

10 thoughts on “Birchbox – July, 2015

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your BirchBox issues! I hope they get it all fixed for you! I loved my Birchboxes as well! Do you take advantage of the point system for reviewing you items? I love their point system!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

