Keepers & Passes; June, 2015 – Real Chemistry, Avon, Beauty Protector, and more!

 

There are the products we can’t imagine living without, and then there are the ones we, well… just no.  Thankfully, June was full of keepers!  I discovered a lot of amazing products I absolutely love.  Keep reading to see which products have earned a permanent space in my beauty cabinet, and the one that didn’t make the cut.

  
Avon Moisture Effective Eye Makeup Remover Lotion  –  I’ve used a few products from Avon in the past, I never found anything I particularly cared for.  I haven’t used anything from Avon in years, until a friend asked me to try the Moisture Effective Eye Makeup Remover.  It took me a few weeks to try it because I already love my skincare routine by Aubrey Organics.  I didn’t feel I was missing anything.  I was wrong.  I’ve used numerous eye makeup removers in the past and found that I didn’t miss them once the bottle was empty, or I would simply stop using them after a few days.  I haven’t gone a day without using Avon’s remover since the first day it was given to me.  

WHY IT’S A KEEPER

EFFECTIVE – It does exactly what it’s supposed to do; remove eye makeup, including waterproof products.  I don’t have any residual product on my lids or lashes after wiping away this remover.

HYDRATING – It leaves my delicate eye area hydrated, supple, smooth, and refreshed.  I feel as though there’s no need for a moisturizer after using this remover.  

GENTLE – This product has never caused my eyes to burn, sting, or itch.  It’s gentle on my sensitive, dermatitis prone skin.  It’s soothing, and I find myself using it on my entire face because of that.

AFFORDABLE – $4.00 gets you 2 oz. of product, and a little goes a long way.  

SO, do I think you should try it?  Absolutely!  Overall, I love this stuff!… and I’m now a loyal fan.  Give it a try if you want an effective, gentle, and affordable remover that offers something more than your typical product.  Don’t know an Avon Lady?  That’s okay; I’ve got you covered!  I’ve teamed up with Michaella Ewing over at Michaella’s Avon Corner to offer you a pretty sweet deal!  Register to start ordering your favorite Avon goodies, and every $50.00 order will earn you a FREE gift and shipping!  Simply register and leave a note saying you were referred by my site.  Enjoy!  😊

  

Vasanti Cosmetics’ Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator – Ahh, this scrub is simply fabulous!  I received this as a sample in my May Birchbox, but I wanted to mention how amazing it is, so I had to add it to June’s Keepers & Passes.  Most scrubs are too harsh for my skin, I prefer to make my own.  You can see my D.I.Y. Honey Coconut Sugar Scrub recipe by clicking HERE.  Vasanti Cosmetics’ scrub is near perfection.

WHY IT’S A KEEPER

INSTANT RESULTS – Papaya, microcrystals, and aloe are a few of the reasons why I see amazing results right away when I use this scrub.  My skin is instantly brighter, and smooth to the touch.  Dry flakes?  No more!  Within two weeks, approximately 3 uses, the flakes are gone and stay gone with weekly use.  

SAFE FOR SENSITIVE SKIN – This scrub is Vasanti’s #1 seller for many reasons.  One of them is it’s 99% Natural, 100% Paraben-free, 100% Vegan, and is never tested on animals.  Sensitive skin?  No problem.  I haven’t had any burning, peeling, stinging, or dryness like I have with other scrubs, and it doesn’t cause my atopic dermatitis to react.

MORE THAN JUST AN EXFOLIATOR – You’ll notice more missing from your face than just dry flakes.  Fine lines, wrinkles, scarring, dulling skin and large pores – it helps diminish them all!

AFFORDABLE – A six month supply will cost you around $34.00.  It is well worth it!

  
Beauty Protector Protect & Oil – I’ve taken my hair for granted for many, many years.  I never used heat protectant, oil, masks, etc.  The result?  Dry, damaged, unruly hair in desperate need of major T.L.C.  This was another sample out of a Birchbox, and I adore it.  It’s my favorite oil, by far.  

WHY IT’S A KEEPER

ARGAN OIL – It’s the star ingredient!  I’ve tried other products containing argan oil, I wasn’t impressed.  The unique blend in this oil works wonders on damaged hair.  You’ll be left with soft, shiny, manageable hair.

SWEET SCENT – I am in love with the way this stuff smells.  It’s sweet, light, and feminine.  You just HAVE to try it!  I’ve even mixed a few drops with my body lotion.  👍👍

SUITABLE FOR ALL HAIR TYPES – There’s no greasy residue, it’s lightweight, it adds just the right amount of moisture.  The formula offers UV ray and heat protection.  It’s paraben and cruelty-free, and strengthens hair.  It’s great for natural or color-treated hair.  Apply a few drops to damp hair and style as usual for a smooth, shiny finish, or rub a bit onto the ends of dry hair to tame frizz and add shine.

 
 I’m happy to say only one product made it on my pass list. I realize this product works for many people, but it definitely did not for myself, and this review is based on my own experience.

Real Chemistry Luminous 3 Minute Peel – I received this as a sample in one of my Birchboxes a couple of months ago, and I wanted to love it.  It promises big things, after all!  

The following was taken from Real Chemistry’s website…

The peel is a “Protein Peel”. It will remove large amounts of excess, dead epidermal cells in seconds. As the synergistic blend of ingredients is gently massaged into the skin, solids form under the fingertips. These are a combination of the peel’s protein-binding ingredients and epidermal protein. 99.5% of consumers who tested the product and have experience with dermabrasion and acid peels, reported that the Real Chemistry Luminous 3 Minute Peel was as effective or more effective, but did not irritate the skin like other methods. This protein peel leaves the skin velvety soft and resurfaced after just one use. Resurfacing is recommended at least once per week for most skin types.  

An enormous amount of tissue is removed during this process, and you may consider applying your peel while showering. Just hang a towel over the shower door, pat the face dry after cleansing, apply and utilize the peel and watch your dead tissue fall away and into the floor of the shower. Upon completion, turn back to the water and cleanse the area again to ensure its complete removal.

WHY IT’S A PASS

SEVERE REACTION – I woke up one day to find a raw strip of skin on one side of my nose, and my chin had about three large pimples on it.  I rarely get breakouts, so I knew something was up.  The raw strip of skin was horrible, it stung so badly, and there was no covering it up with makeup because it would constantly ooze.  I suspected this peel might be the culprit because of the way my skin tingled after I used it, but I wasn’t 100% sure because, in all fairness, I was trying multiple new products at the time, so I waited to post a review.  Fast forward to two days ago, I decided to give it another try when I received it in my last Ipsy bag.  I thought I would be okay since I haven’t been using anything new recently.  Big mistake.  I woke up yesterday and found yet another strip of raw, oozing skin on my nose and chin, and another round of breakouts on my chin, cheeks, and nose.  *sigh*  Time for some T.L.C. and essential oils.  The oils have helped dramatically, and I was able to cover the area with makeup today.  

IS THAT REALLY DEAD SKIN? – As mentioned above, Real Chemistry states ‘an enormous amount of tissue is removed’ during the process of applying and removing the peel.  I’m not sold on that.  You’ll see and feel small balls of gunk form under your fingertips as you massage the peel into your skin, that’s for sure, but I’m willing to bet it’s mostly product and not much more.  Once I read some online reviews, I found I’m not the only one who feels this way.  

PRICE – This peel is on the pricey side, costing $48.00 for approximately 3 months of use, if used only once per week.   

I strongly suggest doing a small patch test before applying this over a large area of your skin.  My nose is affected most by this peel, followed by my chin.  Again, this product may work wonders for you!… I’ve seen many, many positive reviews.  I can only base my review on my own experiences.

Here’s a look at what my nose and chin looked like this morning, two days after use.  The red dots are what’s left of the healing process.  Everything should be back to normal within the next day or so.

   

I hope you give some of the above products a try and are as happy with the results as I have been.  Please don’t let me discourage you from giving the peel a try, but do exercise caution, as you would with any new-to-you product.

Happy Thursday, my friends!  💞

  

3 thoughts on “Keepers & Passes; June, 2015 – Real Chemistry, Avon, Beauty Protector, and more!

      • stephieestie says:

        No it can’t because it order for your skin to have a deep exfoliation lasers or chemical peels that have a lower pH level are the way to go. This is pH neutral which won’t really do much. Personally, I don’t like how this was advertised and since I am an esthetician and have taken a few advanced courses, things like this bug me anyways, lol. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

