OLAPLEX – What is it?  What does it do?  Is it worth it?

 

I was recently introduced to OLAPLEX by my beautiful stylist, Brooke, a master cosmetologist at The Salon at McCall Plaza in Rincon, Georgia.  I have been looking for a product (okay, a miracle worker) to use on my hair, something that can repair damage, restore shine, and make the styling process less time consuming.  

My hair is thick, naturally wavy/curly, and coarse.  It’s also dry and damaged due to years of coloring it nearly every shade possible, going from jet black to blonde in one session, and heat.  I’ve tried numerous products over the years that promised to add shine, improve manageability, restore moisture, and repair damage.  Some of them worked, but only for a short period of time.  Two years ago, I decided it was time to give my hair a break and I stopped going to the salon, I stopped coloring my hair, and I stopped blow drying it.  Fast forward two years, my hair was looking and feeling better but still having problems, still recovering.  I needed to get a professional’s help.  I contacted Brooke and asked what products she recommends for people with my hair type; she immediately suggested OLAPLEX.  This was something I had never heard of, so it was time to do some research.

WHAT IS OLAPLEX, WHAT DOES IT DO?  –  When I searched online, the first thing I noticed were the never ending before and after photos.  These ladies looked fabulous!  OLAPLEX is a salon treatment that multiplies bonds and cross-links broken bonds during and after chemical services, making them stronger than they originally were.  Dr. Eric Pressly and Dr. Craig Hawker invented this miracle worker.  Your stylist will use the OLAPLEX Bond Multiplier No.1 by adding it to your color and finish by applying Bond Perfector No.2 after the color is rinsed from your hair.  The point is to reduce breakage, strengthen the hair, and add shine and manageability with every color service.  

When I showed up for my appointment with Brooke, I was more than ready to get started.  She mixed my color with the OLAPLEX Bond Multiplier, applied it to my hair, let it sit for 25 minutes, rinsed well, applied the OLAPLEX Bond Perfector and allowed that to sit for a bit, shampooed and conditioned my hair, cut and styled it, and we were done!  She sent me home with a bottle of the OLAPLEX Hair Perfector, a weekly treatment I can apply to my hair at home, in between salon visits, to continue strengthening my hair and prepare it for the next round of color.  

HOW DO I USE OLAPLEX?  –  OLAPLEX is NOT a conditioner!  That’s important to remember.  I recommend booking an appointment with a stylist who is familiar with OLAPLEX, allow him/her to apply it to your hair the first time so you know what to expect and can be certain the treatment is being used correctly.  The take-home treatment needs to be applied to your hair before you shampoo and condition, allow it to sit for 10-60 minutes; the longer it stays on, the more intense the treatment will be.  When you’re ready, rinse thoroughly, then shampoo, condition, and style as usual.  That’s it!  Repeat weekly.

DOES IT WORK? – The first thing I noticed was there were less tangles in my wet hair.  There were one or two small knots Brooke had to comb through, and that was it. I usually have quite a few knots and tangles in my hair after washing it, and it takes such a long time to dry. She was able to blow dry my hair in about fifteen minutes, something that would normally take me thirty or forty minutes to do! The texture completely changed. Yes, my hair is still coarse, but it’s so much smoother and doesn’t require as much time with the straightener. And the shine???… holy wow! My hair bounces, it moves, it’s soft, smooth, and shines beautifully. My hair isn’t breaking like it used to, I’m not shedding like a cat.  It FEELS stronger, it looks 100% healthier. After a salon treatment and just one at-home treatment, I’m comfortable with saying OLAPLEX works; it does for my hair.  I hope you see the same fabulous results!  💁

RESULTS  –  I didn’t take before pictures, I really wish I would have.  This ‘before’ picture was taken a few months ago, and my hair hadn’t changed much since then; it basically felt like straw.  😳  Following that are pictures I took five days after the first treatment.  I apologize for the not-so-great picture quality.

 

  

   

Overall, I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.  In the future, I’ll absolutely ask that OLAPLEX be used each time I visit the salon.  The cost of this treatment will vary by salon and stylist; the at-home treatment was $30.00.  

If you’ve tried OLAPLEX, let me know what you think of it.  Do you have before and after pictures?  Share them!  If you haven’t tried OLAPLEX, but you’re thinking about it, try it, and let me know what you think of your result!  😊

 

2 thoughts on “OLAPLEX – What is it?  What does it do?  Is it worth it?

Leave a Reply

