Birchbox – June, 2015

Another month, another round of subscription boxes!  June’s Birchbox is truly lovely.  I’m excited about everything I received, with the exception of the peel (you can read more about that below).  The box itself is so pretty, I love the theme.  Here’s what I received this month…

COOLA, SPF 50 Sport, Mango  

What:  Sweat-proof, water-resistant sunscreen made with organic botanicals (and a fun, fruity scent).

How:  Apply liberally to exposed skin, re-apply every 4-6 hours.

Verdict:  I chose this sample, and I’m SO happy with it!  The scent is light, sweet, and takes me away on a tropical retreat.  Love it!

Davines, MINU Shampoo, Conditioner, and Serum

What:  Richly foaming, citrusy-fresh wash that gently cleanses hair and safeguards color.  The conditioner protects your color, too, and helps to detangle strands.  The serum will boost shine to the next level while, you guessed it, safeguarding your color.

How:  I’m pretty sure we all know how to use shampoo, conditioner, and serum.  😉

Verdict:  A+!  The scent is refreshing and light, it definitely added shine and bounce to my hair, and my hair seemed more manageable while styling.  As for color protection, the sample sizes included in the box aren’t large enough to allow me to have a say.

Marcelle, Waterproof Eyeliner, Mulberry

What:  This blendable waterproof eyeliner goes on smoothly and stays put all day.

How:  Line your eyes and blend to desired effect.  Enjoy all day color!

Verdict:  This stuff really does stay put!  The formula is smooth and blends easily.  I just love the color!  Purples and plums always seem to make my eyes pop.  Love it!

Real Chemistry, Luminous 3-Minute Peel

What:  This acid-free peel gently exfoliates for instantly softer, smoother, brighter skin.

How:  Apply to clean face and massage to slough off dull, dry skin.  Rinse away.

Verdict:  I want to be able to use this peel, but my skin is just too sensitive.  I received this in a previous Ipsy bag, used it twice and started noticing my skin was getting a little red in some areas.  No biggie, that happens a lot with some products I use.  I waited a week and used it again, and this time it caused some of the skin on my nose and chin to peel away, leaving me with what looked like raw, bright red, oozing burns.  It took me a few days of TLC to recover from that.  I won’t use it again, but I will pass it along to a friend with less sensitive skin.

TOCCA, Eau de Parfum, Bianca

What:  This clean, citrus scent has undertones of rose and sugar for long-wearing, intriguing layers.

How:  Dab wherever your heart desires!

Verdict:  I love this scent, and I definitely wasn’t expecting to.  I’m not a fan of floral scents, especially rose (blech!!!!), but there’s something about this one that’s sweet, refreshing, and light.  It’s perfect for summer, and I’m happy to add it to my stash.

L. Erickson, Grab & Go Ponytail Holder

What:  This was an added bonus in my box!  I can never have enough ponytail holders, and silver will go with pretty much everything.  Thanks, Birchbox!

  
Birchbox costs just $10.00 per month, you’ll receive five (or more) samples to try, and a beautiful box to use for whatever your heart desires!  I use my boxes to hold jewelry.  Use my referral code to help me gain more points, and receive 50 points for yourself when you sign up!  100 points = $10.00 to use in the Birchbox store, and you’ll receive 10 points for every sample you review.  Click HERE to start receiving your customized boxes!  

  

Leave a Reply

