Birchbox – May, 2015

My May Birchbox, Cupcakes and Cashmere, arrived last week and I waited to write this post because I wanted to try everything first.  This box is really great, so let’s take a look at what I received.

Beauty Protector, Beauty Wash Body Cleanser 

WHAT:  This rich, foamy gel cleanses skin without drying, and has a dreamily sweet scent.

HOW:  Dispense onto a loofah or washcloth and massage over skin, or add a dollop to your bath.

VERDICT:  I absolutely LOVE this body cleanser!  I’ve already ordered the full size bottle for $15.95 from Birchbox.  The scent is fabulous, and my skin was left silky smooth.  I have very sensitive skin that can get bouts of Dermatitis if I’m not carful with what I use, and this product hasn’t caused any reactions at all.  A+!!!  

Coastal Scents, Revealed 3 Eyeshadow Quad

WHAT:  Versatile range of satiny-smooth shadows in wear-with-anything hues.

HOW:  It’s eyeshadow, people… there are no rules.

VERDICT:  Who doesn’t love eyeshadow?!  I was lucky to receive the full size Revealed 2 palette in my April BoxyCharm box, so I was very excited about getting to try some of the shades included in the Revealed 3 palette.  They’re beautiful!  

  
Harvey Prince, Sea Salt Texturizing Mist

WHAT:  This styling spray delivers beach texture, big volume, and a summery scent.

HOW:  Spritz generously onto damp hair and let air dry.

VERDICT:  When I received an email from Birchbox offering to let me pick a sample for my box this month, I was super excited to try this mist.  I live in Savannah, Georgia, and I go to the beach weekly.  I love the way my hair dries after getting out of the ocean.  This mist did not deliver what it says it will.  My hair looked and felt incredibly dry, and the volume I had was all thanks to frizz.  I have coarse, thick, wavy hair, so maybe this just wasn’t a good match for me.  At least the smell is nice!

Vasanti Cosmetics, BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

WHAT:  This customer fave mimics the effects of microdermabrasion for glowing, smooth skin.

HOW:  3-5 times per week, massage a pea-sized amount into damp skin and rinse.  Safe for all skin types.

VERDICT:  This is amazing for my dry skin, and it doesn’t take a lot of product to achieve desired results.  I’m very happy this was included in my box!  It did brighten my complexion, it left my skin feeling soft, smooth, and definitely helped to fight the dryness.  

Yu-Be, Moisturizing Skin Cream

WHAT:  This all-over hydrator heals and softens everything from rough heels to chapped lips.

HOW:  Apply a thin layer to dry skin, and massage in until cream disappears.

VERDICT:  The scent of this cream can turn some people off, but I find it refreshing.  It smells a bit like something you’d apply to your chest when you have a cold, but it doesn’t last very long, and I think the results are well worth it.  I use this where I’m seeing extreme dryness, otherwise my usual moisturizer does the trick.

  

Are you a Birchbox subscriber?  It’s just $10.00 per month, with the option to unsubscribe anytime you like.  Use my referral link to get some extra points at sign up, and help get some extra points for me, too!  Click HERE to get your first Birchbox!!!  
Overall, I’m very happy with this month’s box.  My favorite product by far is the body cleanser, and I’m really looking forward to trying more products by Beauty Protector.  What was your favorite product in May’s box?!

  

5 thoughts on “Birchbox – May, 2015

  1. rachaelaflood says:

    The coastal scents shadows look amazing! I always wanted to subscribe to some sort of beauty box so I might just have to try this! would love it if you checked out my latest post 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. stashmatters says:

    That eye shadow palette looks really nice – and Coastal Scents Hot Pots are actually quite good quality for the price!
    That Vasanti scrub is AMAZING! I first tried a sample of it and then I went out and bought a full size. It’s a Canadian brand too. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

