My First Birchbox(es)! – April, 2015

I’ve heard mix reviews about Birchbox.  Some people love them and think it’s the best subscription to have, while others give up after receiving the same products every month, like shampoo, conditioner, and shaving cream.  After jumping on the subscription box bandwagon last month, I decided to give Birchbox a try this month. April 1st was my birthday, and I really just wanted to get as many as I could for this month.  When I saw Birchbox was teaming up with Rifle Paper Co. and creating a beautiful box, I was all in.

Before I go any further, I want to share my experience with Birchbox, with you.  I subscribed on April 7th, and I noticed during my sign up process that there was a code for a special edition Madmen themed box.  I have never watched this show, but the box is pretty and I was under the impression Birchbox was offering the Madmen box as a free gift in addition to the Rifle Paper Co. box to new subscribers, so I used the Madmen code during checkout and waited patiently.  I received a confirmation email and noticed the code I had entered wasn’t anywhere to be seen, and it looked like I was going to be receiving just one box.  I was a bit confused, so I emailed support.  Turns out, I was going to be receiving only the Madmen box!  I wouldn’t get the gorgeous Rifle Paper Co. box, the one I really wanted; the horror!!!  😱  After realizing my mistake, I asked if there was a way I could get both boxes and just pay more.  I was told I could unsubscribe, subscribe again, not use a code during checkout and then I would receive both boxes.  So that’s what I did on April 9th.  I paid $15.00 ($5.00 for shipping) for what I thought would be the Rifle Paper Co. box.  I was wrong, again.  After receiving an email stating my Madmen box was on the way, I expected the other box to not be far behind.  Fast forward to April 19th, the second order was still ‘processing’.  I emailed support again, and this time I was told the second box I ordered was actually processed as a May box payment, and the only box I would receive during the month of April was in fact, the Madmen box.  Eugh!!!  Thankfully, this person was extremely helpful, kind, and accommodating.  She also stated she didn’t want me to miss out on the box I really wanted, and apologized for what I was originally told about unsubscribing and subscribing again.  She was sending me a Rifle Paper Co. box!!!… and it was on them!!!  Needless to say, I was thrilled and so thankful.  It’s because of this particular customer service representative, Kaity, that I love Birchbox.  Thank you, Kaity!!!  😊

Now, moving on to the good stuff!  I received both boxes the same day.  They’re both lovely, and are going to be put to use as jewelry organizers.  They’re just too pretty to hide!  I was concerned after reading numerous posts on Instagram that my boxes would be ruined by the oil hair treatment that was included and leaking, or that if I was lucky enough to receive the POP eyeshadow trio, it would be broken and not usable.  Neither of those things happened; my boxes and products are in perfect condition.

IMG_4765-0

Here’s what each box contained…

MADMEN BIRCHBOX

Anastasia Beverly Hills, Clear Brow Gel  

WHAT:  Get professionly polished brows with this translucent gel, rich in botanical conditioners.

HOW:  Brush onto brows in direction of hair growth.  Wear alone, or over your favorite pencil.

VERDICT:  LOVE!  This stuff is amazing.  It stays put, and is super easy to use.  I’ll purchase this when I’m close to using all of the product in my sample.

Beauty Protector, Protect & Oil

WHAT:  This hair oil protects against UV rays and heat while keeping your style Park Avenue sleek.

HOW:  Work 1-3 drops into damp hair or to the ends of dry hair.  Perfect for all hair types.

VERDICT:  It works.  My hair is extremely thick.  It’s coarse, naturally wavy, and is dry due to bleaching. My hair will frizz like crazy if I don’t use any product.  I used Protect & Oil after I styled my hair, and it did a great job of calming things down and lessening the amount of poof I had going on.

Cargo, Swimmables Water Resistant Blush in Los Cabos

WHAT:  This waterproof pigment stays put, even through a three-martini lunch.

HOW:  Sweep onto apples of cheeks and along cheekbones for all-day, any-weather wear.

VERDICT:  I love the color!  It’s a beautiful, bright, peachy shade that really brightens my complexion. It does what it claims to do, stays put, and it doesn’t take a lot to achieve a nice glow.

Liz Earle, Eyebright Soothing Eye Lotion

WHAT:  This cooling lotion uses ultra calming botanicals to soothe, refresh, and depuff tired eyes.

HOW:  After a marathon day (say, on Madison Avenue), sweep over closed eyes with a cotton ball.

VERDICT:  I really love this stuff.  It feels SO refreshing to use after a long day of work.  It’s safe for those of us who wear contact lenses.  The formula is gentle, there’s no strong scent, and it’s simple to use.  I’ll purchase this when I’m close to using all of my sample, which is a generous size.

Whish, Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Blueberry

WHAT:  A shea butter-packed shaving cream in an exclusive blueberry scent.

HOW:  Apply to legs, armpits, or bikini line before shaving, then ditch long sleeves and tights.

VERDICT:  I’ve seen a lot of posts about this stuff, and most of them are negative.  I’m not a fan of blueberry scented things, but I actually like this one.  It’s a light fragrance, fruity and refreshing.  It may not be a first choice, but I certainly don’t mind using it.  The formula is great, very rich and creamy.  It left my legs feeling as though I didn’t need to apply any moisturizer afterwards, and I always do because of how dry my skin can get.  I want to try this in the other fragrances they offer.

Overall Verdict:  I like everything I received.  My favorite product has to be the Eyebright Soothing Eye Lotion by Liz Earle, with the Clear Brow Gel by Anastasia Beverly Hills as a very close second.

Did you receive this box?  What was your favorite (and least favorite) product?

RIFLE PAPER CO. BIRCHBOX

Beaver Professional, Hydro Nutritive Moisturizing Shampoo

WHAT:  This mild cleanser delivers much-needed nourishment to repair and rebuild strands.

HOW:  Well, I think we all know how to shampoo our hair.  Massage a quarter sized dollop into wet hair, rinse, and follow with conditioner.

VERDICT:  I like it, I like it a lot (que Dumb and Dumber facial expression here).  As mentioned earlier, my hair is thick, coarse, dry, and likes to frizz.  This shampoo gave me a head start on the styling process because it really does make the shafts smooth.  I found I had less blow drying time, too, which is always a plus!

Beaver Professional, Hydro Nutritive Repairing Conditioner

WHAT:  Restorative formula that strengthens dry or damaged hair (me, me, me, me, me!!!), leaving it softer and smoother.

HOW:  Once again, I think we all know how this works, but you never really know, soooooooo… work it through clean, damp hair, focusing on ends.  Rinse well.

VERDICT:  Love it!  Combined with the shampoo, this stuff is awesome.  The scent is light, the formula is rich and creamy, and it truly does smoothe and tame my mane.  Win, win!

Jouer, Tint in Petal

WHAT:  Two-in-one pigment that gives the lips and cheeks a wash of creamy color.

HOW:  Dab onto lips and cheeks with fingertips.  Layer for brighter color.

VERDICT:  Petal is a beautiful color, but it’s not a color I would normally choose for myself, not for my lips.  Use caution when applying this, it tends to cake a bit.  It stays put, which is great, but make sure you put it exactly where you want it because it isn’t easy to blend.  I need to practice a bit more with this kind of formula, it’s just not something I normally use.  Overall, I like it.  Practice makes perfect!

Paula’s Choice, RESIST 25% Vitamin C Spot Treatment

WHAT:  This concentrated treatment fades dark spots, combats redness, and minimizes fine lines.

HOW:  At night, lightly pat onto dark spots and wrinkles.  Wear SPF during the day.

VERDICT:  I’ve been using this for only one day, so I can’t say if it actually works.  I don’t have a lot of dark spots or wrinkles… yet.  I do have one very light dark spot under my right eye, caused by sun damage a couple of years ago when I was a sun worshipping goddess, so I’m eager to see what this stuff can do for that.  Word of caution, it BURNS like a mother when applied to broken skin!!!  I accidentally dabbed a bit onto a blemish that’s near the dark spot under my eye, and oh my WOW!  It made my eyes water.

POP Beauty, POP Portfolio Eyeshadow Trio, Peach Parfait Trio

WHAT:  With three pretty pastel shades, this satiny shadow is a spring go-to.

HOW:  Sweep a single color over your eyelid, or mix, match, and blend.  Get creative, people!!!

VERDICT:  I love the colors.  And I really love that all of the makeup products I received are peach tone.  These eyeshadows are lovely colors, easily blend, and offer great pigmentation with build-able coverage.  You can’t go wrong with makeup, Birchbox!

Overall Verdict:  Once again, I like everything I received.  I was SO happy I got the POP eyeshadow trio, that’s definitely my favorite product in this box.  The Jouer Tint is something I need to work with and I’m pretty sure I’ll end up loving it.  And of course, the box itself is just lovely!

Did you receive this box?  What was your favorite (and least favorite) product?


I’m really looking forward to what May will deliver.  $10.00 per month isn’t bad for what you receive.  The samples are a nice size, and some of this stuff is even full size!  If you’d like to try Birchbox, please consider using my personal referral link by clicking HERE!  I hope you’ll enjoy your subscription as much as I do!  😊

7 thoughts on “My First Birchbox(es)! – April, 2015

  1. Jen says:

    You know I was on the fence about getting the Mad Men box and then I just didn’t, I really wanted the Cargo waterproof blush. I’m totally kicking myself for not going for an extra box.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennifer Leigh G. says:

      Jen, apparently we’re not allowed to order two boxes. I wasn’t aware of that prior to subscribing, and it really kind of sucks. When I paid the extra $15.00 for the Rifle Paper Co. box, the system applied that money for my next box in May. If I hadn’t have emailed them to inquire about the status of the order, I never would have gotten the Rifle Paper Co. box. Oh well, we live and we learn.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

