My First Ipsy Glam Bag; March, 2015

I came home to a surprise on Saturday; my first Ipsy Glam Bag had arrived!  I’ve heard good things, I’ve heard bad things, so I decided to try it for myself.  At just $10.00 per month with the freedom to cancel imageanytime I like, I didn’t see a reason not to try it.  I must say, I’m impressed with Ipsy so far!  All products were full size with the exception of Coolway’s oil treatment and Laneige BB Cushion.

First of all, I love the bright, fun packaging.  It really stands out amongst all of the junk mail I receive on a daily basis, and that makes me smile.  😊

Secondly, I love the actual Glam Bag itself.  The colors are awesome! Bright, fun, floral prints are some of my favorites, so this bag is perfect for me and I’m using it now on a daily basis to contain some of my makeup in my handbag.  The quality is great, too!

Finally, the really good stuff!  The products I received are really, really good.  We’ll start with my least favorite and work up to my # 1 favorite.  Calling it my least favorite doesn’t seem fair, because I really do like everything, but there are some things I just wasn’t as excited about as others.

# 5:  Crown Brush Concealer Brush.  –  I owned two makeup brushes before receiving this one, so this was a great addition.  The quality of this brush is great and it’s lightweight.  The downside (for me) is that I don’t use concealer, so I’ll just use it as an eyeshadow brush instead.  RETAIL PRICE:  $7.45

# 4:  Coolway Glow Oil Treatment.  –  I have very thick, coarse hair that’s slightly damaged due to lightening my hair from black to blond-ish and now back to a dark red/brown.  This stuff is wonderful!  My hair was left very soft, shiny, and swishy!!!  The smell is nice, too.  I will purchase this again in the future.

# 3:  NYX Cosmetics Glam Shadow.  –  This bag was going to come with one of two NYX Glam Shadow shades; Over the Top or Sentiment.  Both are lovely and are shades I would have used.  I received Over the Top, and I really like it.  It’s a beautiful and diverse gold tone.  The formula is extra smooth, easily blends, and gives great coverage.  I love the sparkle factor in this, it’s not too over the top (hah!) and perfect for both day and night wear.  I’ll definitely be purchasing more NYX products soon.  RETAIL VALUE:  $4.50

# 2:  Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter.  –  This highlighter is incredible!  It was a toss up between this and my number one pick.  I will absolutely purchase this again when the need arises.  I’m really happy they sent a full size version.  It’s perfect for my skin tone, blends incredibly well, the formula is SO smooth, and the coverage is top notch.  I really can’t say enough positive things about it.  I’ll be using this every single day, no matter what look I’m going for.  RETAIL VALUE:  $18.00

# 1:  Laneige BB Cushion.  –  Wow, just wow.  Most of you know I’m a very loyal user of Physician’s Formula Mineral Wear powder foundation.  I’ve been using it for years and I really do love it.  I never thought I’d find a foundation I liked more, but I have, and it’s all thanks to Ipsy.  I was hesitant about trying Laneige and even thought about just throwing the samples away.  I’m so happy I decided to try it!  I immediately drove to Target to purchase the full size version ($34.00) but they were sold out at both stores.  Blah!!!  I’m going to have to order it online, which is fine by me.  The samples I received came with three shades; light, medium, and dark.  I used light the first day and it was a perfect match.  I used medium today and while it was okay, I had to top it with an all-over highlighter in order for it to look acceptable for me.  Coverage is right on, it’s light and feels as though I’m not wearing anything at all.  My skin had a beautiful dewy finish, and it moisturizes very well.  I kept it on for over twelve hours and only had to touch up with some powder once (nose, forehead, and chin).  The smell is lovely, and my sensitive skin had zero problems while wearing it, in fact I feel it improved the look and feel of my skin after removing it.  The only drawback I see, though not for me particularly, is that it appears they have only three shades to choose from, and that could be a problem for a lot of people.  I really couldn’t be any happier with this product, and I’m a little disappointed I have to wear Mineral Wear until I receive Laneige in the mail.

There you have it, that’s it for my bag.  Overall I’m very happy with everything and I’m already looking forward to April’s Glam Bag.  My birthday is April 1st, so receiving all of these subscription boxes next month will be extra special!  😊

image

Ipsy subscribers, what did you get in your March Glam Bag?!  What were your favorite and least favorite products?  Sound off below!  💄

image

18 thoughts on “My First Ipsy Glam Bag; March, 2015

  1. Matriarch of Nerds says:

    You received completely different things than I did, but they all look awesome. I don’t think I’ve tried or heard of any of the brands in your bag other than NYX. So far I’ve loved all the NYX products I’ve tried. It’s a great brand. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who uses concealer brushes for eyeshadow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennifer Leigh G. says:

      Yes, the concealer brush was the only “meh” thing I received, and only because it’s a concealer brush. But, it works pretty well as an eyeshadow brush, too. 😊 NYX is new to me, all of these brands were. I really like that we receive different products from one another. It’s nice to compare or be able to swap if need be. 👍👍

      Liked by 1 person

  2. hunnybunnysoph says:

    Ah the Laneige BB Cushion is the bomb!! I use Laneige skincare and their BB Cushion was the first of that product type I tried and I love it so much. I’m trying out BB Cushions from the other Korean brands too but I’m not sure if I’ll like them better than Laneige’s. Glad you liked it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

