Look of the (Valentine’s) Day: Physician’s Formula, MAC Cosmetics & Julep

Look of the Day:  Valentine’s EDition

featuring Physician’s Formula, MAC Cosmetics & Julep

I don’t believe you need to wear a pound of makeup to look pretty.  In fact, I believe that when it comes to makeup, less really is more.  I don’t like heavy foundation, and I’ve tried just about every brand you can think of.  Chanel, Estée Lauder, Clinique, L’Oréal, Mac Cosmetics, Origins, Revlon, Avon, Mary Kay,image Almay, Bare Minerals, Lancôme, Max Factor, etc., etc., etc.  These brands are wonderful in their own right and they all have great products to offer, I use many of them, but the foundation that made me stop feeling like I was missing out on something and compromising is made by Physician’s Formula.  I absolutely adore their Mineral Wear line.  I have dry, sensitive skin, and this stuff doesn’t make me itch, break out, or cause my dermatitis to react.  The coverage is light to medium, but can be built up to full coverage if needed.  As for concealer, I havent used it in years because this foundation is all I need, and it doesn’t look cakey at all.  It’s hypoallergenic, oil-free, fragrance-free, non-comedogenic, and dermatologist approved.  Another great thing about this product, and Physician’s Formula in general, is that it’s readily available at many retailers like Wal*Mart, Target, Walgreens, CVS, K-Mart, etc., and the price ($12.95) just can’t be beat!

MAC Cosmetics

Now that we’ve covered the basics, we’ll move on to the fun stuff!  I love experimenting with color when it comes to eyeshadows.  MAC Cosmetics has a beautiful shade called Trax, a rich burgundy-plum with golden shimmer and a velvet finish.  Trax is by far my favorite shade made by MAC.  Coverage ranges from light and delicate for day wear, to intense and smoldering for night.  And that shimmer, oh my gosh, that golden shimmer is just pure goodness.  I used two light sweeps of color for my look yesterday.

image

Julep

imageJulep offers a wide array of amazing products.  I love their mascara, Length Matters.  Mascara is a product I’ve had a love-hate relationship with, and I’ve tried many.  Before I started using Length Matters I was a loyal fan of Double Extend by L’Oréal.  I never used the lengthening side because I felt it made my lashes clump, but the actual mascara portion is incredible and I’ve always loved the brush.  What I didn’t love was spending nearly $14.00 for such a small amount of mascara.  I received Length Matters in one of my monthly Julep Maven boxes and I admit, I was very apprehensive at first.  For one thing, the brush is nothing like what I’m used to and I thought for sure I’d hate.  But I was wrong.  I actually really, really like it.  The formula is perfect.  No clumps or flaking, rich color, no need for multiple coats, and the dry time is fantastic.  I give this mascara five out of five stars; you won’t be disappointed.

image

Julep’s GLOW pore minimizing blushes are great too.  It’s a light, airy blush, and the coverage is awesome.  This stuff is pretty potent and doesn’t require you to use a lot.  You can create a subtle blushing look, or build it up for more drama and night wear.  I love the way it smells!  It has a sweet floral aroma, but it’s not overpowering at all, in fact you may not even notice it.  It contains some great ingredients, like rosehip seed oil to soothe and repair, Malvaceae Lipid Extract™ to improve barrier function so skin retains moisture, and green coffee bean oil to invigorate skin & promote cell turnover.  It is available in two colors, Petal Pink and Peach Bellini.  I use Petal Pink.

image

Finally we come to Julep’s Kajal Eye Glider.  It features two highly pigmented colors, carbon black and brown shimmer. I like these eyeliners, they’re easy to apply, have a smooth formula that doesn’t skip or drag at all, and it stays put but is still easy to remove at the end of the day.  They’re easy to blend and make creating a smoky eye super easy.  I like having black and brown together and find myself using both equally.  When you purchase the liner, you’ll also receive Julep’s Kajal-friendly sharpener, which is a nice bonus.

The Look

My Valentine’s Day look is simple, sweet, and perfect for day and night.  My boyfriend isn’t a fan of makeup, and prefers me to keep it basic, which is fine with me, so this was perfect for what we both like.  It has the flash of color I wanted without too much drama.  I didn’t use anything on my lips for this look.  I tend to keep my lips nude or bare for the most part, or I just swipe on some lip balm, and that worked out well yesterday.  Hopefully your day was filled with so many kisses you didn’t have time for lipstick!  🙂

image

What was your look for the day?!  Sound off below!  🙂

image

12 thoughts on “Look of the (Valentine’s) Day: Physician’s Formula, MAC Cosmetics & Julep

Leave a Reply

