Fire Street Food – Savannah, Georgia – Bubble Tea, Sushi, and More!

Fire Street Food

13 East Perry Lane – Savannah, Georgia

imageHungry?  Savannah definitely isn’t short of fabulous places to sit down and enjoy a meal.  There’s a little bit of everything, something for every craving.  I’ve already expressed my love of The Sentient Bean, and there are numerous other places that are just as amazing but in different ways, like Zunzi’s, Green Truck Pub, Tequila Town, Moon River Brewing Company, Bayou Café, and Clary’s… just to name a few.  Randy and I have been keeping a list of places we want to try, and Friday night he wanted to try something new.  I really wasn’t in the mood to go out, he picked me up from work, I was still in my scrubs, tired and ready to go home, but we headed downtown instead, and I’m really glad we did.

image

If you ever find yourself on or near East Perry Lane, you MUST stop at Fire Street Food.  I really can’t say enough positive things about this place.  Randy and I enjoyed our first experience there so much that we went back for round two yesterday for a late lunch.  They haven’t been in business here very long, but they’ve already made a great impression, voted Savannah’s Best New Restaurant and receiving top notch reviews.  There’s a sister location in Charleston, South Carolina that has received just as much praise.  The atmosphere is great, comfortable with a modern twist, and our server was fantastic, on both occasions.

On to the good stuff, the food and drinks!  Prices are reasonable, ingredients are fresh, and you get big portion sizes for the money, especially the sushi rolls.  All sushi rolls are $6.95, and they’re packed!  You will receive 6 to 10 pieces, depending on the roll you order.  This sushi is the best I’ve ever had… ever.  I ordered the Telfair roll my first night there, battered salmon, eel, crab, cream cheese and asparagus topped with scallions, shrimp sauce, eel sauce, Sriracha, masago, and sesame seeds.  Delicious!!!

image

I also ordered teriyaki beef with carrots, broccoli, cabbage, squash, zucchini and fried rice.  The beef was tender and I could tell the veggies were fresh.  The teriyaki sauce was perfect, and I’d definitely order it again.  Their other teriyaki options are shrimp, chicken and tofu.  Randy ordered Pitoon, braised duck served over white rice and yellow curry with potatoes, carrots, sweet onion and lime leaf.  We ended up switching plates because we both enjoyed the other so much.  The duck was cooked perfectly, so tender and juicy, full of flavor.  I wanted to order it again yesterday for lunch, but was determined to keep trying new things off of the menu.  Please excuse the picture of the Pitoon, Randy had already taken a few bites before I was able to take a picture.  😉

image

DAY 2

When we went back the next day for lunch, we ordered two sushi rolls, pork dumplings, and lemongrass chicken.  The lemongrass chicken was so great; a grilled chicken breast served over a bed of white rice, glazed with yellow curry sauce, house ginger dressing and mesquite sauce, and with a side salad.  I enjoyed this even more than I did the teriyaki beef.  It was the perfect combination of sweet, savory, and tangy.  I loved it!

The sushi rolls we ordered were the Oglethorpe and the Alaska.  The Oglethorpe had cucumber, avocado, carrot, asparagus and a spring mix topped with sesame seeds.  This was Randy’s pick and I didn’t expect to like it very much since there wasn’t any fish in the mix, but I did like it.  It was fresh, crisp, refreshing and light.  The Alaska roll was my pick.  Crispy salmon, avocado and cream cheese topped with eel sauce, shrimp sauce and sesame seeds, another scrumptious combo.

I didn’t try the pork dumplings, I was way too full, but Randy enjoyed them and ate them all.  He said they had a great smoky flavor, and they didn’t look greasy like some I’ve had in the past.

Bubble Tea

Now on to something I’ve never tried or heard of before; bubble tea!  I wasn’t so sure about this at first.  I don’t care for iced tea at all, but once I found out they could make it in smoothie form and they had piña colada as an option, I was all in.

imageBubble tea is known by many names, including tapioca tea, pearl tea, pearl milk tea, boba milk tea, boba tea, bubble drink, tapioca pearl drink, etc.  It is easily recognizable by the oversized straw you’ll need.

Bubble tea was originally created as a tea-based drink that was invented in the 1980s in Taichung, Taiwan.  As the name suggests, most bubble tea drinks contain a tea base mixed with fruit flavor or milk.  The best part about this stuff are the chewy tapioca balls.  They’re fairly large, about the size of a marble, with a Jell-O-like consistency and slightly sweet.

I liked the piña colada version, but the strawberry one that I got the next day was even better!  If you haven’t tried this, I highly recommend it.  I had to warm up to the idea of chewing my drink, but once I got used to that, I became a big fan, and I’ll definitely be ordering more in the future.

image

image

8 thoughts on “Fire Street Food – Savannah, Georgia – Bubble Tea, Sushi, and More!

  1. dianasadventures says:

    So glad that you like bubble tea! hehe, in Socal – that’s all we drink 😛 My favorites are almond milk tea, mango green tea and taro! It’s so cool that you live in Savannah, Georgia. My friend lives there also but I’ve never been. Post up more food options so I know all the best spots to eat at when I come by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennifer Leigh G. says:

      Well, we went back today and I was talked into getting lychee, definitely not my favorite. I wasn’t able to drink much and it made me sick. I’m sticking to the more common flavors and things I’m familiar with. These drinks are a little too expensive to waste.

      Savannah is awesome! You’ll really enjoy it and the variety of places to visit. There’s a wide selection of foods to choose from. 👍👍 I’ll be posting more soon! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

